This project is read-only.

Geometry performance

Sep 3, 2010 at 6:54 PM
Edited Sep 3, 2010 at 7:29 PM

I just started using DeepEarth and I already have a question.

I used LocalMaps example, placed a Geometry Layer in map, and added 50-70 polygons each with many points. It works and they are displayed with the right format and in the right place. The problem is with performance during pan and zoom. These operations are very slow and the layer I have added lags behind the background layer in LocalMap example. I have set UpdateMode to ElementUpdate.

Here is what I basically do:

• new GeometryLayer(map)
  • map.Layers.Add(newLayer)
  • for each polygon
    • new ObservableCollection<Point>
    • add points to ObservableCollection<Point>
    • new Polyg(color, color, width)
    • newPoly.points = new ObservableCollection<Point>
    • newLayer.Add(newPoly)

Am I doing something wrong? Is there a tutorial or example for what I am doing?

Sep 3, 2010 at 8:42 PM

I'm not an expert, but I think that if you set the layer to TransformUpdate it will instead pan and scale your lines to match the map, instead of recalculating the line positions every time from latitude and longitude which is expensive in terms of performance. I've tried it with 4000 points and it keeps up.

However make sure all the lines on your layer shows at all zoom levels. Mine don't... See one of my other posts for a YouTube video. If you get it working let us know!

Andy

Sep 3, 2010 at 8:55 PM

Thanks Andy for your quick response.

Do I still need to create the point in lat and long if I use TransformUpdate? I just changed it to TransformUpdate and the polygons are not displayed at all. At least the performance is very good :)

Sep 3, 2010 at 9:13 PM
Edited Sep 3, 2010 at 9:15 PM

I think the ElementUpdate vs TransformUpdate is only for DeepEarth to know how to manipulate the geometry layer. The data input format should be the same.